Do Better, Become Better!

  In 2017, we are embarking on a very special journey…one of wholeness and fulfillment…it’s our DO BETTER, BECOME BETTER campaign.  Each month we will focus on one area that we can all improve upon, and by the end of the year, we will have grown into the most beautiful people ever!  Beautiful on the inside, where it matters most.   We ask that you PLEDGE in the comments section below to doing better each day, so that you can become a better, whole person, a much happier person at the end of this journey.  All it takes, is a committed effort and baby steps.  

So, for the next month, we’re going to all focus on:  SHOWING KINDNESS DAILY.  Each day you open your eyes, you will say:  “Today, I commit to showing kindness to everyone I encounter.”  And, by everyone, I mean EVERYONE, even if you view that person as your worst enemy.  If you would drop by periodically and share your moments of kindnesses as well as where you struggled in this process (i.e. Someone cut you off in the turning lane and you felt a bit of road rage, but you bit your tongue and instead of displaying rage, you simply smiled at them).

We ask that you share this page with your family and friends and encourage them to take this challenge, with us.  What do you have to lose?  Nothing.  But, there is so much to gain for all of us.  A legacy of a much better world left behind for our children and grandchildren.

So, I’m committed to doing better so that I can become a better person, how about you?

***

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 ***

 

13 comments

  1. I commit! We should all strive to be better, always allowing room for improvement. I, myself, like to start each day with a smile, each day with a new & positive attitude.

    Like

  2. My commitment has been tested to it’s very core this afternoon! I still haven’t decided whether I’m being kind or leaving the problem for the next unsuspecting appointment.

    It’s been about six weeks since I’ve been to get my hair cut so I’m in dire need of a major overhaul! My stylist recently retired so I’m going out on a limb with someone new today. I printed pictures of what my hair is to look like from every angle. But what did I get? A 2″ high and tight pixie cut!

    Imagine my surprise, and utter horror, when I put my glasses on and was handed the mirror for a look. My darling husband looked like a deer in the headlights as I was turning toward the mirror (he knows me).

    My first instinct is to rip this poor, young, very pregnant stylist up one side and down the other, sending her crying from the store. I stopped myself and breathed very deeply. I ran my hands through this cute little cut, looked at my round, double chinned face and declared it just darling! After all, it will grow out enough to be styled again by summer!

    I even remembered to tip this sweet young thing. I’ve removed her number from my phone already!

    ~Patricia, Room With Books~

    Like

  3. I am absolutely in! For the past couple of years, I have committed myself to improving one area within my life. Last year, I committed myself to embracing change. This year, I’ve committed to embracing the happiness within me (not relying on outside sources for happiness). Now, I am adding this to my journey this year. 🙂

    Like

  4. I admit to having a short fuse…at times it’s shorter than at others, depending on what rude person I might encounter. Today, while shopping, my patience was tested, but instead of directly teaching the rude clerk a lesson, I spoke with her manager privately and then, she taught me a lesson. If you all can remember, I wrote a blog a while ago about “meeting people where they are.” Well, I will admit that I didn’t try very hard back then, but now, I am determined to do just that. My expectations of myself and others are very high. I expect decency from everyone, but I must understand that no matter how high my expectations are, some may be content to remain just the way they are…and, in the place they are in, no matter how low it might be. I have come to the realization, that if they won’t change, then I must change my reactions to them.

    This is me sharing my experience of how I am working to meet this month’s challenge of being kinder to everyone I encounter.

    What’s your story?

    Liked by 2 people

    • Staci, my daughter saw your comment here with your photo and said: “Mommy, she looks like she’s already nice to everyone all the time.” I responded: “Well, that was sweet! What about me?” She looked at me and said, “Mommy, I’m going to need you to write your commitment down 49 more times.” I am still laughing so hard I have tears in my eyes!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

